Archive

Archive for the ‘Hardware Reviews’ Category

WD Elements 3TB External Hard Drive WDBAAU0030HBK-NESN

August 13th, 2011 Comments off

WDBAAU0030HBK-NESNDesigned with the same commitment to quality that made WD external drives the number one drives in the world, Western Digitals WD Elements 3TB external hard drives are the right answer for simply affordable add-on storage. Just plug it in to a USB port and start saving your photos, music, video, and files.

Model: WDBAAU0030HBK-NESN

Interface: USB 2.0
Capacity: 3TB
Form Factor: 3.5″

This drive is preformatted for use in Windows, and can be reformatted for use with Mac OS X using Apple’s Disk Utility application. The drive is ready to use right out of the box –you won’t have to load any software from a CD to get the drive to work. It is an excellent option for users who would like to add storage capacity to their system.

  • Designed with the same commitment to quality that made WD external drives the number one selling drives in the world
  • Plug-and-play design allows you to connect the power and plug the drive into a USB port to instantly add more storage to your computer
  • Turns on and off with your computer. Enters idle mode when not in use. Utilizes a WD drive with power-saving WD GreenPower Technology and an EnergyStar compliant power supply
  • Packaged in a minimized eco-friendly, recyclable packaging made from recycled materials
  • Designed for use with Windows-based computers. Can be easily reformatted for use with Macs

Customer Reviews of the Western Digital WDBAAU0030HBK-NESN:

Its a great external hard drive, I have several 1.5TB models just like this deployed in our office, and just like them they are very quiet and effective as a backup solution.

Yes it’s on, for reals. It’s so quite it makes me question my own ears. I got the 3TB version, and maybe I will be able to fill it in about 100 years. j/k. I have 5 externals running off of a powered hub on my laptop at all times and this one takes the cake as the largest and quietest one of them all. One HD to rule them all? Maybe, if the cake is a lie. Seriously, buy this one and site back and relax.

Price: $180.99 (Price on amazon.com: $124.99)

What’s in the box: USB 2.0 external hard drive, USB cable, AC adapter, Quick Install Guide.

Recommended 500GB External Hard Drives

June 10th, 2011 Comments off

Recommended 500GB External Hard DrivesLooking for external hard drives with 500GB capacity? please refer to this guide.

Today’s Storage disks’ capacity upgrade day by day. A few years ago, purchased a 1GB U-disk, you would already feel it was a great capacity and could not expect the 8GB, 16GB U-disks become noting in today. Moreover, the capacity of the external hard drive is extremely huge. You can see 1TB, 2TB’s external hard drives everywhere, greatly eased people’s requirement to massive data transmission. Many manufacturers have launched promotions for this capacity external hard drive. I have collected many promotions information to shall with you. Before you purchase these external hard drives, you can refer:

Seagate Expansion 500GB Desktop External Hard Drive ST305004EXA101-RK
(Model: ST305004EXA101-RK Price: $99.99 Amazon.com Price: $58.19 Form Factor: 3.5″)

Review: “I easily reformatted it with fdisk (to make a Linux partition) and mkfs (to make an ext3 file system) so as to make it friendly with my Linux machine (running Scientific Linux—basically RHEL 5.0), and it works like a charm. It is immediately recognized; all I need to do is to plug in the USB. It is also very quiet.”

Cirago CST4500 500GB USB2.0 External Hard Drive
(Model: CST4500 Price: $59.99 Form Factor: 3.5″)

Review: “I haven’t delved into the accuracy of the advertised specs but it functions exactly as I expected when I made the purchase. I know my system holds it back from full speed performance(laptop HDD not as fast as this thing so copy speeds aren’t phenomenal) so that’s not something I hold against it. Actual usable space is something like 460GB but don’t quote me on that. The stand is nice, helps it stay cool I s’pose. Speaking of which, I’ve had ZERO heat problems after the year or so I’ve owned and used it.”

Seagate Expansion 500GB USB2.0 External Hard Drive ST905004EXA101-RK
(Model: ST905004EXA101-RK Price: $89.00 Amazon.com Price: $59.99 Form Factor: 2.5″)

Review: “Acceptable transfer rate over USB 2.0, doesn’t need an external power source, extremely portable.”

Western Digital My Passport Essential 500GB External Hard Drive
(Model: WDBACY5000ABL-NESN Price: $99.99 Amazon.com Price: $78.52 USB2.0/3.0)

Review: “Fast and easy, runs very cool. Of course I have it on top of my HAF 932, and that big old fan makes sure it don’t even get warm. Can’t beat the price for what you are getting. Disk Image of Win7 Prem, and X/P Home in under 3 Hours start to finish 382 GiGs. Great shipping from the EGG, as they never fail.”

Samsung S2 500GB External Hard Drive HXMU050DA/G22
(Model: HXMU050DA/G22 Price: $103.99 Amazon.com Price: $77.99 Form Factor: 2.5″)

Review: “”Really small, comes with a cable. Some people complain about the cable being small but it is for a reason. With this short cable it allows fast transfer speeds. “

Considerations for External Hard Drives

One drawback to using external hard drives for backups is that they are still relatively new for home computer use. They come with Windows drivers; should Windows fail, you will not be able to access your external drive through DOS. There are DOS drivers available but they can be difficult to find and most manufacturers do not provide support for them. This isn’t a frequent occurrence, just something to keep in mind as you select your external hard drive.

Recommended 2TB Internal Hard Drives

May 29th, 2011 Comments off

Recommended 2TB Internal Hard DrivesRequire more storage for the games, images, music and films? An 2TB internal hard drive upgrade or perhaps a second drive might be what you’re searching for. Internal hard disk drives are utilized as primary storage in desktop Computers, work stations, and servers. Nowadays, small form factor internal hard disk drives are utilized in consumer electronic items like audio players and digital camera models too. No matter the application, this post will present a comprehensive choice of internal hard disk drive items that you should select from, from hard disk producers like Western Digital, Seagate, HItachi, LaCie, Maxtor yet others.

Bestselling 2TB Internal Hard Drives on Amazon.com

Western Digital 2TB Caviar Green 64MB Cache Desktop Hard Drive – WD20EARS
(Model: WD20EARS, Cache: 64MB, Price: $159.99, Amazon.com Price: $79.99)

Review: “I’m using 4 of these for personal storage, and I put about 8 of these in other people’s systems. I’ve yet to have a problem. I especially like them for external enclosure since they run cool and quiet.”

Samsung Spinpoint F4EG 2TB 5400rpm 32MB Hard Drive – HD204UI/Z4
(Model: HD204UI, Cache: 32MB, Price: $114.16, Amazon.com Price: $79.99)

Review: “These drives are simply the best you can ask for at this price and size. 2TB formats to 1.81TB in NTFS. HDTune reports average read of 107.3MB/s and average write of 104.3MB/s. Nothing more you could ask for when using these in a file server over gigabit connection. They run at around 25c Idle and 29c when being used (ambient ~23c). Inexpensive (53.9GB/$ – bought at $75 each).”

Hitachi Deskstar 2TB CoolSpin RPM 32MB Cache Internal Hard Drive – 0F12117
(Model: 0F12117, Cache: 32MB, Price: $144.40, Amazon.com Price: $79.99)

Review: “I have this drive and a 1.5TB Samsung 5400rpm drive installed in the same older system that only supports SATA2. I haven’t done any tuning on the drives, just factory settings and Windows 7 x64 defaults. According to HD Tune 2.55 the 5K3000 has an average transfer rate of 101MB/s while the Samsung averages 80.8MB/s. The burst rate is 161.6MB/s vs 148.5MB/s.”

Hitachi Deskstar 2TB 7200RPM 32MB Internal Hard Drive – 0F10311
(Model: 0F10311, Cache: 32MB, Price: $213.80, Amazon.com Price: $95.00)

Review: “I purchased 10 retail boxed versions of these HDs back in November 2009; configured in a RAID6 array for 16TB of storage. I added 3 more of the bare drive versions (being reviewed) 13 months later (December 2010). I haven’t had ONE drive go bad after 24/7 operation for 18 months! Performance: 300+MB/s (that’s megaBYTEs) sustained file transfers from one partition to another on the same RADI6 array…”

How to choose a 2TB Internal Hard Drive?

When choosing a hard disk, you will find two primary points to consider: speed and capacity. Budget enabling, always choose the quickest drive you are able to. Speed is measured while using Revoltions per minute figure a quicker spinning speed means greater performance, particularly in games, but could cause greater warmth and noise. The capability, measured in GB (gb), should rely on your personal storage needs. A greater capacity drive will almost always cost greater than a lower capacity drive, so an account balance must usually be struck between capacity and price. Additionally, the hard disk interface IDE, SATA, or SCSI determine a drives application: IDE and SATA for private storage and SCSI for enterprise, mission critical storage.

Recommended 250GB Internal Hard Drives

May 26th, 2011 Comments off

Recommended 250GB Internal Hard DrivesRequire more storage for the games, images, music and films? An internal hard drive upgrade or perhaps a second drive might be what you’re searching for. Internal hard disk drives are utilized as primary storage in desktop Computers, work stations, and servers. Nowadays, small form factor internal hard disk drives are utilized in consumer electronic items like audio players and digital camera models too. No matter the application, this post will present a comprehensive choice of internal hard disk drive items that you should select from, from hard disk producers like Western Digital, Seagate, HItachi, LaCie, Maxtor yet others.

Bestselling 250GB Internal Hard Drives on Amazon.com

Western Digital 250GB 8MB Caviar Blue Desktop Hard Drive – WD2500AAJS
(Model: WD2500AAJS, Cache: 8MB, Price: $53.99, Amazon.com Price: $39.99)

Review: “This drive is very quiet. I’m running this along side of a Seagate Barracuda 250gb booting Windows Vista, with this drive running Ubuntu 10.10, and this drive barely makes a sound when loading. It’s also pretty fast as well.”

Western Digital 250GB Caviar Blue 16MB Cache Desktop Hard Drive – WD2500AAKS
(Model: WD2500AAKS, Cache: 16MB, Price: $57.99, Amazon.com Price: $47.13)

Review: “I bought one of these more than a year ago, and it has served me well. I bought another one recently, and so far so good. It’s not the fastest or biggest drive in the world, but it’s cheap, and that’s good enough for me.”

Seagate Barracuda 250GB 8MB Cache Internal Hard Drive – ST3250318AS
(Model: ST3250318AS, Cache: 8MB, Price: $52.50, Amazon.com Price: $38.00)

Review: “Does exactly what says it does, at the speed it says it does it. I purchased this as a hard drive replacement for a relative who wasn’t too concerned with the cache. It took a lil long to install Windows 7 but after that, the low cache wasn’t noticeable using the typical games/applications that my relative uses.”

Western Digital 250GB 8MB Caviar Blue IDE Desktop Hard Drive – WD2500AAJB
(Model: WD2500AAJB, Cache: 8MB, Price: $79.00, Amazon.com Price: $44.95)

Review: “No problems with this drive, needed one of these PATA type drives for the older computer, relatively quiet, obviously not as fast as a SATA but what do you expect. I like WD’s quality generally, I actually have two of this series AAJB drive in the older machine, this 250GB and a 160GB, same model, both work good.”

How to choose a 250GB Internal Hard Drive?

When choosing a hard disk, you will find two primary points to consider: speed and capacity. Budget enabling, always choose the quickest drive you are able to. Speed is measured while using Revoltions per minute figure a quicker spinning speed means greater performance, particularly in games, but could cause greater warmth and noise. The capability, measured in GB (gb), should rely on your personal storage needs. A greater capacity drive will almost always cost greater than a lower capacity drive, so an account balance must usually be struck between capacity and price. Additionally, the hard disk interface IDE, SATA, or SCSI determine a drives application: IDE and SATA for private storage and SCSI for enterprise, mission critical storage.

Recommended 1TB Network Attached Storage (NAS)

May 25th, 2011 Comments off

Network-attached storage (NAS) is data storage or perhaps a data storage device, like a hard disk or RAID array, attached to some type of computer network, supplying data use of different network clients.

NAS systems contain a number of hard drives, frequently arranged into logical, redundant canisters or RAID arrays (redundant arrays of affordable/independent disks). NAS products remove down to file serving using their company servers on the network.

Bestselling 1TB Network Attached Storage (NAS) on Amazon.com:

Seagate BlackArmor NAS 110 1TB Network Attached Storage
(MPN: ST310005MNA10G-RK, Price: $199.99, Amazon.com Price: $149.99)

Seagate BlackArmor NAS 110 1TB Network Attached StorageReview: “A little slower than I hoped. ~40MBps read and ~22MBps write – Sequential. Since the 1Gb ethernet spec can go up to 125MBps theoretical I was hoping it would be in the 80-100MBps range. Encryption requires a USB drive plugged in the front. Just fine if you have a small, old USB flash. The backup software is not the most reliable in recovery, but you get 5 free licenses and for Windows XP it is better than built-in. Use Windows 7’s built-in back up with drive.”

Iomega Home Media 1TB Network Attached Storage
(MPN: 34337, Price: $126.99, Amazon.com Price: $99.99)

Iomega Home Media 1TB Network Attached Storage Review: “very nice case design, internal fan for hard drive, hooks up to router through network at full speed (1000 mps), very fast, although my comp ethernet card is going at 100 mps, fast enough for now untill i get another eternet card, adjustable light brightness through software.”

Buffalo LinkStation Live 1TB Shared Network Attached Storage
(MPN: LS-CH1.0TL, Price: $129.99, Amazon.com Price: $108.90)

Buffalo LinkStation Live 1TB Shared Network Attached StorageReview: “Super easy setup out of the box. Using with Xbox Media Center with the actual original Xbox’s throughout the house. Kids playroom, living room, office. You can setup access rights so kids can only access Kids folder, etc. Also planning to use with Masscool Media Player.”

NAS provides both storage and file systems. This really is frequently compared with SAN (Storage Space Network) products, which offer only block-based storage leaving filesystem concerns about the “client” side. SAN methods include SCSI, Fibre Funnel, iSCSI, ATA over Ethernet, or HyperSCSI.

NAS Manufactors: Zoysia, Cavalry, D-Link, Hammer Storage, Apple, iomega, LaCie, Linksys, Maxtor, Netgear, QNAP, Thecus, Seagate, Western Digital and Synology.